Skip to Content

2019 Wrap Up & 2020 Preview – Appearances, Discounts & More!

2019 Wrap Up & 2020 Preview – Appearances, Discounts & More!

As big a year as 2019 was, 2020 is already shaping up to be even bigger! Join us as we review 2019, and give you a sneak peek into what’s coming in 2020.

2020 RVgeeks Appearances – Come See Us!

  • Jan 11-19: Xscapers Annual Bash: Happening at the rodeo grounds in Lake Havasu City, AZ, the Xscapers Annual Bash "ain’t your grandma’s RV rally!" The days are filled with speakers covering all topics RV and RV life related including boondocking, solar, working on the road, cooking, and hobbies. The evenings are filled with a mobile party like you’ve never seen at an RV event. Dance the night away at a rave, sing out loud to classic rock and 80s bands, compete in fun games, or participate in margarita contests. Learn More
  • Jan 16: Tampa RV After Party: Join us at 6PM for the the RV Show After Party at The Wing House (5003 US-301, Tampa, FL 33610), hosted by RVnGO. Learn More
  • Jan 21 & 22: Quartzsite, AZ: Come to Silly Al’s Pizza (175 W Main St, Quartzsite, AZ) at 7PM and join us while we rock out with Anthony Nalli’s band, Wicked Truth.Learn More
  • Feb 12-16: RVillage Rally: Spirit of the Road 2020 is all about connecting with fellow RVers for five amazing fun-filled days in beautiful Florida. Meetup with old friends and make new ones, enjoy live music and dancing every night, attend master classes, shop the vendor booths, kayak on the Suwannee River, enjoy world class entertainment… and so much more! Learn More

Special Savings!

Save twice as much as usual during the month of January, 2020! Use the Discount Code GEEKS2020 at Tough Top Awnings and M4 LEDs and save 10% instead of the usual 5%! Who doesn’t like saving money?!?!

Be Generous!

Thinking about joining the Escapees group? Use our link when you do and we’ll donate 100% of our affiliate income to the Escapees C.A.R.E. Center, a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit organization providing members whose travels are impacted because of age, or temporarily interrupted because of health problems, a safe haven with professional assistance at affordable prices. Every little bit helps, so spread the word! (read our post and watch the video for more details)


Links Mentioned In This Video:


Recent & Related Videos:

We'd Love It If You Shared This!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anton

Monday 27th of January 2020

Do you ever need to use your generator now that you have the lithium battery upgrade? I'm especially concerned with the amount of energy consumed by your household refrigerator. Thank you.

TheRVgeeks

Monday 27th of January 2020

Hi Anton! We did the lithium upgrade in 2018, but wanted to live with it for a season before following it up with a major solar upgrade. We knew going in that lithium alone wouldn't eliminate the need to run the generator, since the new batteries, while highly superior for energy storage, don't actually produce any additional energy. But rather than do the lithium and solar all at once, we wanted to see how much difference in quality of life the batteries alone made (a lot)! But we did still need to run the generator every few days, since we only had 375 watts of solar. We recently upgraded to 1,300 watts of solar (video coming very soon!) and now, if it's sunny at least about every other day, we never need to run the generator at all, even this time of year, with short days, and low sun angle. We're boondocking in the desert right now, and at 1 PM, with our four tiltable panels up (the other four are not tiltable... see the upcoming video for an explanation), we're at 91% battery capacity, and will be full within the next hour or two. And that's with a friend's rig (who has no solar) plugged into ours to charge their house batteries too!

Richard Hubert

Tuesday 21st of January 2020

Hi John & Peter - My wife & I have been following you both for years, and it was GREAT to hear that you are contributing to Escapee CARE. I am with the Escapee BOF "Boomers" - now down in Quartzsite together in Boomerville (220 rigs in this group alone as of today) - just North of Plomosa Rd (2.9 miles in from Rte, 95 - follow the signs. You are more than welcome to stay here!).

Every year we have a big auction from which ALL the proceeds go to CARE. As such the Boomers have been the largest single contributor to CARE for many years. We sell personal RV stuff, but we mostly get lots of sponsors from the Big Tent show and others. For example - This year we have 2 Battle Born batteries to auction off, 1 LionEnergy battery, Dometic electric fridge, etc. etc. Our auction is this Thursday - Jan. 23 - @ 11:30 am, and it would be great if you could both come by and say Hi and let everyone know how you are supporting this great charity. I see that your schedule is crazy busy, but we would love to see you both. I will try to greet you at Silly Al's tomorrow night (if I can squeeze by the crowds). Hope to see you!!

TheRVgeeks

Wednesday 22nd of January 2020

Thanks so much for your kind words and invitation, Richard. We'll soon be announcing an expanded initiative in our support of CARE. If we get the opportunity to break free from our current schedule, we'll try to stop by. Either way, please say hello if you make it over to Silly Al's tomorrow (Wed).

Roger B

Tuesday 31st of December 2019

I got a glance of the rig that you escaped from when the Wynn's had you.

TheRVgeeks

Wednesday 1st of January 2020

We might need a Silver Alert! ????

Haskel Morrell

Monday 30th of December 2019

Followed you guys for years, and I've learned a lot from your blogs. As of now we are part-timers and will probably go full as soon as my wife retires in a couple of years. Kudos on "The Rvers". My only problem with it is that there are way too many commercials, but lots of info. Keep up the good work.

TheRVgeeks

Monday 30th of December 2019

Hi Haskel! Thanks very much for your comments. We appreciate and respect your input. The commercial aspect is primarily a factor on Discovery, which is, after all, commercial television. Every other outlet… all of the many streaming services, and PBS, are commercial-free… and with expanded content. We hope you’ll give Season Two a chance (streaming or on PBS)! Have a safe and Happy New Year!

TomAndPeg

Monday 30th of December 2019

Wow, you guys are busier than ever!

We throughly enjoyed your 2020 preview video. Speaking of New Zealand, know that our oldest and his family, who are also avid RVers, did a 2 week tour of the islands earlier this year in a small motorhome. They absolutely loved it, and we can't wait to see your own take on that glorious part of the world.

Stay safe and don't forget Hobbiton!

TomAndPeg

p.s. Sorry to see your departure from Patreon, but we do understand. Know that we shifted our Patreon pledge to Salt & Tar, a young couple of mariners deep into the 4th year of building their dream sailboat. Give them a look-see.

TheRVgeeks

Monday 30th of December 2019

Thanks so much for the kind words, Tom & Peg. We appreciate your support, and are happy to hear you're supporting another creator oon Patreon (that's some cool boat they're building)! Wishing you a safe & Happy New Year!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PLEASE NOTE: We're handy RVers, not professional technicians. We're happy with the techniques and products we use, but be sure to confirm that all methods and materials you use are compatible with your equipment and abilities. Regardless of what we recommend, consult a professional if you're unsure about working on your RV. Any task you perform or product you purchase based on any information we provide is strictly at your own risk.

We participate in the Amazon affiliate program, which provides a means for us to earn a small commission by linking to products there. But our opinions are our own and we only link to products we can recommend to friends with complete confidence. And using our links won't cost you an extra penny!